It was a good day for Nigerian duo Bursaspor’s William Troost-Ekong of and Al-Ahly’s Junior Ajayi who have both been included in the 2017 Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) Team of the Year that is ongoing.Troost-Ekong and Ajayi’s inclusion was confirmed in a poll published on CAF’s verified Twitter handle.

The voting for the  2017 CAF Team of the Year selection a 3-4-3 formation, started last Saturday with the goalkeeping position.

Following the final selection in one of the three positions in the defence, Troost-Ekong  got 71 per cent from the 3,524 votes to beat Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester United’s Eric Bailly who got 29 per cent of the votes.

The two other defenders selected are Tunisia and Al-Ahly’s Ali Maaloul and Ahmed Fathy of Egypt and also Al-Ahly.

Ajayi got 64 per cent out of 7,261 of votes cast for the offensive midfield position.He saw off competition from Senegal and Liverpool forward Sadio Mane (20 per cent) and Yacine Brahimi of FC Porto and Algeria (15 per cent).

For the defensive midfielder position, Feyenoord and Morocco’s Karim El Ahmadi got the nod.

Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa goalkeeper Dennis Onyango of Uganda was picked in the goalkeeping position.



Follow us on twitter @TheAOIFootball and on Facebook

Copyright 2017 AOIFootball. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.