Ghana Coach Avram Grant has released a crack 23-man squad for the CAF Africa Cup of Nations 2016 with West Ham United and captain Asamoah Gyan topping the list.

In-form striker Abdul-Majeed Waris and Austria second tier top scorer Raphael Dwamena were surprisingly dropped in favour of debutantes Ebenezer Ofori and Bernard Tekpetey in Ghana’s final 23-man squad for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations tournament in Gabon.

Grant axed Turkey-based midfielder Attamah Larweh who was part of the provisional squad named on Monday.

This means the Black Stars will travel to the tournament with a squad dominated by players who played in the last edition where they reached the final.

The Israeli manager kept faith with all the starting players who helped him to reach the final of the competition in Equatorial Guinea two years ago.

Mensah, who joined American side Columbus Crew just yesterday, and Edwin Gyimah were named in the squad despite fitness concerns but the coach is certain they will be fit for the tournament.

Leicester ace Daniel Amartey, was included as was another English Premier League player, Andre ‘Dede’ Ayew of West Ham.

Aston Villa’s Jordan Ayew – Andre’s brother – was one of three English Championship players named, alongside Christian Atsu of Newcastle and Andy Diadom of Barnsley.

The depth in Ghana’s squad is obvious as other top players like Juventus playmaker Kwadwo Asamoah, Leicester City ace Jeffery Schlupp as well as suspended duo of Kevin-Prince Boateng and Sulley Muntari were not considered.

The Black Stars are now in the UAE for a training camp in preparation for the tournament.

The tournament kicks off in Gabon on 14 January.

Ghana will be based in Port-Gentil where they will face Mali, Egypt and Uganda in Group D.

The Black Stars’ first match will be against Uganda on 17 January.


Goalkeepers: Razak Braimah (Cordoba, Spain), Richard Ofori (Wa All Stars) and Fatau Dauda (Enyimba, Nigeria)

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew, USA), Andy Yiadom (Barnsley, England), Baba Rahman (Schalke, Germany), Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium), (John Boye (Sivasspor, Turkey), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew, USA), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City, England), Edwin Gyimah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese, Italy), Afriyie Acquah (Torino, Italy), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain) Mubarak Wakaso (Panathinaikos, Greece), Christian Atsu (Newcastle, England), Ebenezer Ofori (AIK Stockholm, Sweden), Samuel Tetteh (Leifering, Austria)

Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (Al Ahli, UAE) Jordan Ayew (Aston Villa, England), Andre Ayew (West Ham, England), Ebenezer Assifuah (Sion, Switzerland), Bernard Tekpetey (Schalke, Germany)


Follow us on twitter @TheAOIFootball and on Facebook

Copyright 2017 AOIFootball. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.