President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Mr. Amaju Melvin Pinnick has been cleared and confirmed by CAF Executive Committee as a candidate for the forthcoming CAF Executive committee elections in March 2017.

Pinnick will be contesting for the West Africa Zone B seat and against incumbent Anjorin Moucharafou who is from Benin Republic.

The NFF President is seen as one of the next generation administrators with great innovations to take African football to the next level but he faces a herculean task as he faces Moucharafou who is vastly experienced.

Former NFF President Aminu Maigari lost in the last election to Anjorin Moucharafou.

Below is the full detail of the decisions taken at the CAF Executive committee meeting today:

The CAF Executive Committee met on Thursday, 12 January 2017 in the Gabonese capital, Libreville. After deliberations, the following decisions were taken:

1. Candidatures for the CAF President and CAF Executive Committee elections for the 2017-2021 cycle deemed valid;

Election of CAF President for the period 2017-2021

Outgoing President:         Issa Hayatou (Cameroon)

Candidates:  Ahmad (Madagascar)

Issa Hayatou (Cameroon)

Elections for CAF Executive Committee for the period 2017-2021

Northern Zone

Outgoing member: Mohamed Raouraoua (Algeria)

Candidates:  Anwar El Tashani (Libya)

Fouzi Lekjaa (Morocco)

Mohamed Raouraoua (Algeria)

West Zone A

Outgoing member: Amadou Diakite (Mali)

Candidates:  Amadou Diakite (Mali)

Hassan Musa Bility (Liberia)

West Zone B

Outgoing member: Anjorin Moucharafou (Benin)

Candidates:  Amaju Melvin Pinnick (Nigeria)

Anjorin Moucharafou (Benin)

Central Zone

Outgoing member: Adoum Djibrine (Chad)

Candidates:  Adoum Djibrine (Chad)


Central-East Zone

Outgoing member: Magdi Shams El Din (Sudan)

Candidates:     Juneidi Basha Tilmo (Ethiopia)

Magdi Shams El Din (Sudan)

Moses Magogo (Uganda)

Suleiman Hassan Waberi (Djibouti)

Southern Zone (2 Vacancies)

Outgoing members:         Ahmad (Madagascar)                  

Suketu Patel (Seychelles)

Candidates:     Danny Jordaan (South Africa)

Frans Mbidi (Namibia)

Rui Eduardo Da Costa (Angola)

Suketu Patel (Seychelles)

Female Candidate (1 vacancy)

Candidates:     Isha Johansen (Sierra Leone)

Lydia Nsekera (Burundi)

2. Election of African representatives to the FIFA Council for the period 2017 – 2021

Subject to eligibility confirmation by FIFA, the following candidates were approved for the election of African members onto the FIFA Council:

Arabic, Portuguese and Spanish Grouping

Tarek Bouchamaoui (Tunisia)

Follow us on twitter @TheAOIFootball and on Facebook

Copyright 2017 AOIFootball. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.