Dami Paul, Goal Keeper Katsina United


Katsina United recorded their second straight away draw in the NPFL when they held home team Lobi Stars to a scoreless draw at the Aper Aku Stadium in Makurdi today.

‘The Changi Boys’ now have nine points from seven matches.

Last weekend, they had held Niger Tornadoes to a 1-1 draw in Lokoja.

They are now due to play two straight home games – next Sunday against Shooting Stars and on Wednesday, February 22, versus Fc Ifeanyiubah.

Katsina United shot stopper Dami Paul was again outstanding as he pulled off saves after saves to deny David Tyavkase and Kingsley Eduwo.

The visitors defence led by skipper Nasiru Sani was also resolute and kept their shape even after early pressure by Lobi Stars.

Hosts Lobi missed a penalty in the 37th minute, when the referee ruled that Usman Barau had handled a cross by Solomon Kwambe inside his goal area.

However, Lobi goalkeeper John Lawrence blasted the penalty into the stands.

Lobi attacked the visitors from the onset with forwards David Tyavkase and Kingsley Eduwo threatening the Katsina goal.

The visitors then weathered the early storm and even carved out their own chances.

Tasiu Lawal, Obinna Eleje and Joshua Agboola will later trouble the defence of the home side.

Katsina United striker Ibrahim Suleman could have given his team the lead in first half stoppage time but he failed to capitalised on a horrendous blunder by Lobi shot stopper Lawrence.

In the second half, both teams created chances, but Katsina United were cheered on by the home fans for their impressive display anchored by star midfielder Ashadi Destiny.

LOBI STARS: Lawrence, Kwambe, Shehu Nasiru, Nya Dennis, Agbaji, Chinedu James, Daniel Barnabas, Tyavkase, Nyima, Eche Idakwo, Eduwo

SUBS: Odah Okiemute, Bunde Moses, Itodo Cletus,Otekpa Eneji, Okpotu Anthony, Alimi Sunday, Mbah Ezekiel

KATSINA UNITED: Dami 35 Kappe 12 Nasiru 6 Barau 4 Nwachukwu 32 Timothy 5 Tasiu 7 Eleje 25 I.Suleiman 9 (Usman Bello) Destiny 10 (Ajaero) Agboola 8 (Gwammy)

SUBS: Okoli Okoli 34 Isah Abdulrahman 3 Faisal Sani 31 Ajaero Kingsley 29 Eric Gwammy 21 Usman Bello 13 Adah Joseph 17

Follow us on twitter @TheAOIFootball and on Facebook

Copyright 2017 AOIFootball. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.