The Round of 16 matches of this year’s AITEO Cup competition for men and women will take place across the country on Wednesday.

In perhaps the biggest match of the day in the men’s competition, troubled Shooting Stars of Ibadan will be up against Akwa United at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo.

The Oluyole Warriors are waiting anxiously on the League Management Company to take a decision on the Gombe United/Wikki Tourists Matchday 38 clash in Gombe last Saturday to know their fate in the Nigeria Professional Football League.

Wikki Tourists led 1-0 at the Pantami Stadium before the match was abandoned due to crowd trouble after 24 minutes, and the LMC is going through the match commissioner’s report to take a decision on the encounter.

Presently, both Wikki and Shooting Stars are locked at the same number of points and goals difference, meaning that a possible replay decision and eventual favourable result for Gombe United will determine the Ibadan giant’s NPFL status.

Akwa United finished in fourth position, missing out narrowly from a continental spot, and know that only the Aiteo Cup competition can offer them a leeway into Africa.

In other matches, Ekiti United are home to Katsina United, while relegated ABS FC will visit Unicem Rovers (conquerors of Enugu Rangers in the Round of 32) in Calabar, and Heartland FC of Owerri, close to NPFL return, will tackle FC IfeanyiUbah in Nnewi.

In the women’s competition, champions Rivers Angels take the pitch against Ben Women at the Yakubu Gown Stadium, as Pelican Stars host FC Robo Queens in Calabar and Nasarawa Amazons are away to Beautiful Tours in Abuja.

A unique feature of the Aiteo Cup competition is that from the Round of 16, there would no longer be straight penalty shoot –outs to determine winners of stalemated games. A draw will mean a replay at the home of Team B. Penalty shoot –out would only be a resort if both teams were deadlocked on aggregate.

AITEO Cup Round of 16 Matches


Pelican Stars Vs FC Robo Queens – UJ Esuene Stadium, Calabar (2pm)

Confluence Queens Vs Sure Babes – Confluence Stadium, Lokoja (4pm)

Bayelsa Queens Feeders Vs Edo Queens – Nembe Stadium (4pm)

Rivers Angels Vs Ben Women FC – Yakubu Gowon Stadium, PH (4pm)

Sunshine Queens Vs Bayelsa Queens – Akure Township Stadium (4pm)

Beautiful Tours Vs Nasarawa Amazons – Area 3 Stadium (2pm)

Jokodolu Babes Vs Abia Angels – Lekan Salami Stadium (4pm)

Osun Babes Vs Ibom Angels – Oshogbo Township Stadium (2pm)



FC Abuja Vs Niger Tornadoes – Area 3 Stadium (4pm)

Akwa Starlets Vs Plateau United – Godswill Akpabio Stadium (2pm)

Ngwa FC Vs Sunshine Stars – Abakaliki Township Stadium (4pm)

Osun United Vs El-Kanemi Babes – Oshogbo Township Stadium (4pm)

Unicem Rovers Vs ABS FC – UJ Esuene Stadium, Calabar (4pm)

Akwa United Vs Shooting Stars – Godswill Akpabio Stadium (4pm)

Ekiti United Vs Katsina United Feeders – Oluyemi Kayode Stadium (4pm)

FC IfeanyiUbah Vs Heartland FC – Ifeanyi Ubah Stadium (4pm)

·      All matches to be played Wednesday, 13th September. In case of a draw in any match, there would be no penalties, but a replay at the home of Team B on Saturday, 16th September.

Follow us on twitter @TheAOIFootball and on Facebook

Copyright 2017 AOIFootball. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.