The Super Eagles of Nigeria and its head coach, Gernot Rohr alongside reigning African Woman Footballer of the Year, Asisat Lamina Oshoala, and Super Eagles forward Victor Moses have all been included in the list for the 2017 CAF Awards, can report.

The Confederation of African Football on Monday announced the nominees with the country getting a further four nominations ahead of the award ceremony to be hosted in Accra next year.

The new categories include Women’s Player of the Year, National Team of the Year (Men & Women), Youth Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Club of the Year and Referee of the Year.

Gernot Rohr, who led the Super Eagles through an undefeated World Cup qualifying campaign, which saw them win four and draw two, is up for Coach of the Year against Hugo Broos who led Cameroon to the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations title, and Hector Cuper, the Argentine who helped Egypt to qualify for their World Cup since 1990.

The Super Eagles are in the National Team of the Year category along with Cameroon, Egypt and Zambia’s U-20.

While Asisat Oshoala, who has been in brilliant form in China, will be hoping to retain the crown she won last year in Abuja alongside four other players, will be vying for the Women’s Player of the Year award.

Meanwhile, Super Eagles forward Victor Moses made the final shortlist for the Men’s player of the year award. Also, former National U23 striker Junior Ajayi who plays for Al Ahly of Egypt is in the running for the African Player of the year (based in Africa) award.


Eleven (11) players made the cut for the Player of the Year and Ten (10) for the Player of the Year (Based in Africa) after votes from members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and Independent Media and TV Consultants, from the initial 30-man list.


The second and final phase will involve Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations taking part in the voting exercise and ten members from the Independent Media and TV Consultants group.


For the first time, captains of the senior men’s national teams of the affiliated National Associations will also take part in decision making process of the African Player of the Year and Player of the Year (Based in Africa).

The winners will be decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and independent media and TV consultants, according to CAF.

Full Shortlist:

Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

Hector Cuper (Egypt)

Hugo Broos (Cameroon)

L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Mihayo Kazembe (TP Mazembe)

National Team of the Year



Mali U-17


Zambia U-20

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC


Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon &


Rutendo Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos)

Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsvedens)

Women’s National Team of the Year

Ghana U-20


Nigeria U-20

South Africa


Club of the Year

Al Ahly

Mbabane Swallows

SuperSport United

TP Mazembe

Wydad Athletic Club


Youth Player of the Year

Eric Ayiah (Ghana & Charity Stars)

Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)

Luther Singh (South Africa & Braga)

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

African Player of the Year (alphabetical order)

1.     Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Olympique Lyon)

2.     Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

3.     Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)

4.     Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)

5.     Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

6.     Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

7.     Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & B. Dortmund)

8.     Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

9.     Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)

10.  Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)

11.  Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)


Player of the Year (Based in Africa)

1.     Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

2.     Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly)

3.     Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

4.     Aristide Bance (Burkina Faso & El Masry)

5.     Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

6.     Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

7.     Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand & Supersport)

8.     Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly)

9.       Mohamed Ounnajem (Morooco & Wydad Athletic Club)

10.  Taha Yassine Khenisssi (Tunisia & Esperance)

The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

Follow us on twitter @TheAOIFootball and on Facebook

Copyright 2017 AOIFootball. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.