Reigning NPFL Champions Plateau United started their defence title with an impressive performance winning 1-0 away from home to Nasarawa United at the Lafia City Stadium on Sunday, reports.
Raphael Ayagwa stunned the home fans with an excellent finish three minutes from time.
In Umuahia, a brace from Ndifere Effiong gave Abia Warriors a 2-0 win against MFM FC.
The encounter between Lobi stars and Enyimba of Aba ended in a 1-1 draw inside the Aper Aku stadium, Makurdi.
Chinedu Udeagha put the People’s Elephant in the 39th minute, while Ezekiel Mba equalised for the hosts with his first touch of the game.
And at Ifeanyi Ubah Stadium, Anambra Warriors defeat Yobe Desert Stars 2-1.
Former NPFL goal king Godwin Obaje opened scoring for the Nnewi based side in the 37th minute, Chinedu Ohanachom equalised for Babaganaru’s side in the 61st minute, while Gabriel Shola grabbed the winner for the  hosts at 73 minutes.
In Owerri, Heartland and Sunshine Stars played out a barren draw at the Dan Ayiam Stadium.
Former champions  Enugu Rangers also lost 2-0 against Akwa United at the Godswill International Stadium, Uyo.
Kelly Kester (40th minute) and Dennis Nya (66th minute)  scored were both on target for the Promise Keepers.
In Ilorin, Kwara United were beaten 2-0 by Niger Tornadoes. Tornadoes eventually broke the deadlock through Eric Frimpong and Ibrahim Babawo at 11th and 49th minutes respectively.
On Saturday, in Kastina, Destiny Ashadi’s goal from 12 yards in stoppage time ensured Katsina United earned a 2-2 draw against Kano Pillars. Chinedu Ajanah got his first for goal Katsina United, while Junior Lokosa and Alassan Ibrahim scored for four-time champions Kano Pillars.
In other Match day results, El-Kanemi Warriors also suffered loss to United, following their 1-0 away loss to Rivers United in Port harcourt.
Rivers United goal was scored by Guy Keumian in the 67th minute.
Katsina United 2 – 2 Kano Pillars
Kwara United 0 – 2 Niger Tornadoes
Ifeanyiubah 2 – 1 Yobe Desert Stars
Wikki Tourists 1 – 0 Go-Round
Akwa United 2 – 0 Enugu Rangers
Lobi Stars 1 – 1 Enyimba
Heartland 0 – 0 Sunshine Stars
Nasarawa United 0 – 1 Plateau United
Rivers United 1 – 0 El-Kanemi Warriors
Abia Warriors 2 – 0 MFM FC