Abdul Fagge Maikabi, Head Coach, Plateau United FC


Akwa United claimed top position in the Nigeria Professional Football
League following a comfortable 4-0 home win against Wikki Tourists at
the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo on Sunday, reports.

Ubong Friday opened scoring 14 minutes into the game, while former Remo
Stars skipper Victor Mbaoma doubled the lead for the Promise Keepers
in the 66th minute.

Michael Ibe made it 3-0 in the 81st minute, while Christian Pyagbara completed the rout in the 87th minute to end the game 4-0 at full time.

Rivers United secured a slim 1-0 win against their Neighbour rivals GO Round. Oche Salefu scored his goal from the penalty spot in the 81st minute.

Meanwhile, NPFL reigning champions, Plateau United trounced Sunshine Stars of Akure 5-0 in Jos. Chinedu Ajanah opened the scoring in the 7th minute, while Sunday Ingbede extended the lead in the 15th minute.

Emeka Umeh added the third in the 20th minute of the clash.

Former Osun United forward, Tosin Omoyele netted a brace while Mafeng Pam scored from Ingbede’s assist in the 87th minute to give the Kennedy
Boboye-tutored side a vital home win.

Lobi Stars also enjoyed a 1-0 win against FC Ifeanyi Ubah at the ‘Aper Aku Stadium, Makurdi. Esosa Igbinoba turned in Ayo Saka’s cross to secure three points for the Ortom Boys.

Katsina United stunned visiting Niger Tornadoes 2-0 in Kastina. Chinedu
Ajana opened scoring in the seventh minute, while Eric Dufegha gave the
lead for Changi in the 47th minute.

Kano Pillars defeated Mountain of Fire and Miracles (MFM) FC 2-0 at the Sani Abacha Stadium in Kano. Junior Lokosa and Adamu Hassan were the scorers for the Masu Gida.

Abia Warriors and Rangers settled for a draw at the Oriental Derby clash.

El-Kanemi were held to a 0-0 draw by Enyimba at the Maiduguri Township Stadium.

NPFL Matchday Full Results:

Akwa United 4-0 Wikki
Lobi 1-0 FC Ifeanyi Ubah
Heartland 2-0 Kwara United
Katsina United 2-0 Tornadoes
Rivers United 1-0 Go Round
Abia Warriors 0-0 Rangers
El-Kanemi 0-0 Enyimba
Plateau United 5-0 Sunshine Stars
Kano Pillars 2-0 MFM