VOLGOGRAD, RUSSIA - JUNE 22: Ahmed Musa of Nigeria celebrates following his sides victory in the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia group D match between Nigeria and Iceland at Volgograd Arena on June 22, 2018 in Volgograd, Russia. (Photo by Michael Regan - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)
Super Eagles trio of Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi and Odion Ighalo have been nominated by the Confederation of African Football for this year’s awards scheduled to take place next year in Dakar Senegal, reports.
Musa starred for the Eagles at the FIFA World Cup in Russia, scoring twice in the tournament, whilst Ighalo on his part made history in China finishing as the continent’s best forward and also currently tops the scorer’s chat for the 2019 AFCON qualifiers.
Iwobi on his own part has been impressive for both club and country this year, helping the Gunners to the final of the Europa League last season and has also helped Nigeria qualify for the AFCON next year.
Similarly, Leicester City midfielder and Eagles defensive shield, Wilfred Ndidi is among six players nominated for the young player of the year award with the Nigerian facing strong competition from Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi and Frank Jessie of AC Milan.
Super Eagles’ Coach, Gernot Rohr also made nomination for the Coach of the Year after the Franco-German took the Eagles to the FIFA World Cup in Russia and also qualified the country for next year’s AFCON with a game to spare.
34 players were selected for the African Player of the Year with regular suspects, Mohammed Salah, Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang favourites for the awards.
Awards will be given out to respective winners at a gala night on Tuesday, January 8 in Dakar Senegal.