VOLGOGRAD, RUSSIA - JUNE 22: Alex Iwobi of Nigeria arrives at the stadium prior to the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia group D match between Nigeria and Iceland at Volgograd Arena on June 22, 2018 in Volgograd, Russia. (Photo by Lars Baron - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)
*Dennerby voted for Oshoala, Ordega, Ebi
Despite missing out on the final three-man shortlist for the CAF Best Player Award for 2018, Super Eagles Alex Iwobi, findings reveal that the Arsenal star was backed by both Gernot Rohr and Mikel Obi, reports.
After a stellar 2018 with both club and country, Iwobi was named in the initial shortlist and was voted for by the duo of Rohr and Mikel.
In the women’s category, Falcons head coach Thomas Dennerby followed in the footstep of Rohr by voting for the trio of Oshoala, Ordega and Onome in his list whilst captain Onome Ebi voted for Asisat Oshoala to clinch her fourth women’s player of the year award.
Their votes did, however, make a good impact with both Oshoala and Ordega making the final shortlist alongside South Africa’s Kgatlana who remains a big threat to the Nigerian duo.
The award ceremony which will take place in Dakar Senegal next week with Mohammed Salah and Asisiat Oshoala looking likely to retain the awards they won in 2017.