VOLGOGRAD, RUSSIA - JUNE 22: Ahmed Musa of Nigeria celebrates with team mates after scoring his team's first goal during the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia group D match between Nigeria and Iceland at Volgograd Arena on June 22, 2018 in Volgograd, Russia. (Photo by Lars Baron - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)

*Mikel Agu, 5 others placed on standby

Super Eagles Coach, Gernot Rohr has made public his list of 25 players that will begin camping next month in Asaba ahead of the Africa Cup of Nations slated for Egypt in June, reports.

As expected, Captain Mikel John Obi makes a return to the team after a one-year absence after the country’s group stage exit at the 2018 World Cup in Russia, missing all six qualifiers as the Eagles returned to the continental stage for the first time in six years.

Surprisingly, forward Kelechi Iheanacho is also one of the 25-man list released by the Franco-German despite the forward’s struggles at club level having also been dropped for the Eagles last outings against Seychelles and Egypt.

Making the cut also is Villareal of Spain young star Samuel Chukuweze who snubbed the urge to play for Nigeria at the FIFA U-20 World Cup to pursue his dream at his first AFCON despite just having one full senior cap.

Similarly, Portugal-based midfielder Mikel Agu who recently returned from injury was placed on standby alongside defender Bryan Idowu, Flying Eagles duo of Ikouwem Utin and Valentine Ozornwangor.

The Super Eagles will officially open the campaign on June 2 in Asaba before facing the Warriors of Zimbabwe in an international friendly six days later at the Stephen Keshi Stadium.

The team will then depart the shores of the county on 9th June to Ismaily where they will go into a closed campaign before playing Senegal on the 13th June in their final preparatory game.

Full Provisional List

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England)

Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Middlesbrough FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Beer Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Six On Standby: Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC)